Tenth of December

Getting excited for this. I’ve read most of these stories in the New Yorker, but I stopped before reading the last two so I’d have something new to read in the book.

Already, it contains two of my favorite Saunders stories: “Al Roosten” and “Victory Lap.”

If you’ve read “Roosten,” make sure to check out this Justin Taylor essay comparing him to Flannery O’Connor. The essay has stood out in my mind longer than most for how jarring it was to see an article about something I was already actively thinking about, having just read “Roosten.” Namely:

Flannery O’Connor : Catholicism :: George Saunders : Buddhism

But of course that’s a little too tidy.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

