9/22/11 – The Day Vesta Williams Passed Away

Yesterday evening after dinner, I began the actual writing on a new project I’ve spent the last couple of months preparing for: A book about Thursday, September 22, 2011.

I picked the day beforehand, and not for any significance the day held for me, but because it was just a day, any day. And then the day came and, turns out, a number of interesting things happened.

So, in the brave tradition of radically shifting the tone and regularity of this blog to suit my whims, I will occasionally in the coming months link over to some of my more interesting 9/22 findings.

Finding #1: Monday’s post, which linked to a story about an old Japanese Star Wars Nintendo game.

Finding #2: 9/22/11 was the day we lost Vesta Williams, an R&B singer with a killer range whose career peaked in the late 80’s.

Here’s her 1989 signature hit, “Congratulations,” a ballad about hearing through a friend that a former lover is getting married:

And here’s “Once Bitten, Twice Shy,” an uptempo hit with the opening line, “Your name is Dracula / You suck the life right out of me.” Even if you don’t watch the whole thing, make sure to check out the stop-motion “chase around the pool” sequence that begins at the 2:10 mark.

I wasn’t familiar with Vesta before I read her obituary, and now I’ve listened to each of these songs a few times each. Which brings me to one of the true motivators of the 9/22 project: I like having a professional excuse to root around through old music videos on youtube.

Tagged ,

One thought on “9/22/11 – The Day Vesta Williams Passed Away

  1. Gabe Durham says:

    UPDATE! One more essential Vesta video. This one is a deeper cut and involves a keytar:

Leave a Reply

