“I know art, but I don’t know what I like.”

If I write a marriage memoir, it’s going to be called, Want to Split a Beer?

My favorite bit in This is Spinal Tap: David says, “You know, if we were serious and we said, ‘Yes, she should be forced to smell the glove,’ then you’d have a point, but it’s all a joke.”  Nigel jumps in and says, “It is and it isn’t. She should be made to smell it, but…” and then David goes, “But not, you know, over and over.”

I wrote a bunch of dumb lists this weekend, starting with the Radiohead one. I’ll roll them out now and then.

I have this vision where if we fill the internet up with enough dumb lists and cats, some brave government will eventually roll out The Internet 2, a long continuous sheet of blank bytes across the ocean floor. What will we fill it with? Will the internet’s sequel be the one to actually save us?

I sang The Hearse Song for my tutoring kids and won big points. By the end of the day, they all had photocopies of the lyrics. I’m glad that Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark is no less cool now than it was when I was a kid. I was surprised, looking at the book as an adult, at how many of the stories ended with instructions to scream something spooky. Maybe that’s the ultimate ending to anything.

Cedar Rapids was funny.

Bob’s Burgers is funny. Great use of Kristen Schaal.

Rango was okay. Liz and I took our friends’ kid to see it, and he liked it. In the car afterward, he’d go, “Liz, who was your favorite character?” “Gabe, who was your second favorite character?” “Gabe, who was your least favorite?” I bet I was like that.

Archer is another edgy cartoon that gets too many kicks out of oh yeah I went there. I’ve seen the first 3 episodes. Maybe it gets better.

From this Norm MacDonald interview: “In my entire life in comedy, I’ve only seen Kinison, Stern, Saturday Night Live when I was a kid, and Letterman’s first talk show—those are the only original things I ever fucking saw in my whole comedian life. Everything else, you say, “Oh, I’ve seen that about 10 billion times.” There’s that saying, “I don’t know art, but I know what I like.” The inverse is kind of true. I know art, but I don’t know what I like. You get so immersed in it that nothing appeals to you.”

And: “I guess what I find funny is that when I’m bombing, I start smirking; then they fucking hate me. Because they think I’m making fun of them or something. But the reality of it makes me laugh. Comedy is surprises, so if you’re intending to make somebody laugh and they don’t laugh, that’s funny. It’s definitely funny watching. If I’m in the back of the room and a guy’s fucking bombing, that’s the fucking funniest thing ever. There’s nothing funnier than seeing that. So I have a little bit of an out-of-body experience where I enjoy the scenario, and I really do like seeing a crowd turn into a mob, and I do nothing to stop it. People can become really dangerous.”

And: “I tried really hard on Weekend Update to do something that I considered original, which was, I tried to cut all cleverness out of the joke. I’ve always been very averse to innuendo, especially sexual. I find it cowardly or something.”

I’ve always been rooting for Norm. In high school, my friends and I watched Dirty Work many times. So little regard for acting or even wardrobe. Like anytime someone calls him Mitch, I expect him to flinch a little and correct them: “No, no. My name is Norm.”

2 thoughts on ““I know art, but I don’t know what I like.”

  1. Liz says:

    Yes, I do. Except those nights I’m feeling wild n’ crazy.

  2. gabe says:

    I’m gonna start buying you those Coronitas.

Leave a Reply

