Australian Invasion

I am honored and delighted to have a story coming out in the next Lifted Brow! Past contributors include Chris Bachelder, Sean Casey, the Wrens(!), Brian Evenson, Ben Greenman, Daniel Handler, Tao Lin, and Heidi Julavits. Huge thanks to Matt Bell for rejecting the story, “LifeCyclists,” for the Collagist on the grounds that he’d rather see the story in print than on the web, which motivated me to send the story out some more.

Unrelated: The democratic internet likes my Notorious BIG remixes (especially “Ends to my Friends”) more than my Bjork, Madonna, Glen Phillips, MIA, Nabokov, and Radiohead remixes put together. I might not agree but I do like the attention.

8 thoughts on “Australian Invasion

  1. dzanccollagist says:

    Congratulations, Gabe! That’s great news. I thought that was a great story, and I’m very excited that it’s found such an excellent home. I’ll look forward to reading it again there.

  2. Gabe Durham says:

    Thanks, Matt! You’ll find I took your suggestion and played with the ending a little more.

  3. jendurfo says:

    Nice! I’ll take one copy for Christmas, please.

  4. Gabe Durham says:

    I’ll keep that in mind. Actually, sister, credit for tipping me off to the journal goes to Jon Rooney, knower of all cool things.

  5. rooney says:

    This is the big time.

  6. Gabe Durham says:

    I like too they recognize the similarities between the indie lit and music scenes (bands/writers fed up with big labels/pub houses use new technology to create a better product while still wondering how to get people to pay attention and/or give money), which remain largely separate from each other.

    ps – Project Sparrows Dissemination is coming along, I think I have just 3 copies left.

  7. Jensen says:

    Congrats, dude! This is great news. Thanks for comment over that the PANK blog too.

    Jensen

  8. Gabe Durham says:

    Thanks, man. My pleasure.

Leave a Reply

