New Blog: One Isn’t Enough

Friends: I hope you will join me at my new blog, Lolita, Scrubbed, where I have begun to serialize a new edit of Nabokov’s Lolita based on the taste and whims of Gerard Kibbey, a guy I made up. Watch and cringe as Kibbey has his way with one of the greatest novels of the century that just happened.

I’m shooting for verisimilitude here, so I won’t use my name on the blog itself. This is not to trick people into thinking Gerard Kibbey is a real person, but instead to create a self-contained fictional space. (I briefly considered starting the blog in character while never owning up to it, but I think the “Is he, like, serious, dude?” concerns that could arise would be both distracting and done-to-death.

If you’d like to follow along with the original, there is a free full-text PDF edition of the original Lolita here.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “New Blog: One Isn’t Enough

  1. B.Baldi says:

    Brilliant idea, Gabe. I look forward to reading about Humbert Humbert’s more subdued attraction to Lo. About time this novel was made more reasonable.

  2. Gabe says:

    Thanks, dude! That’s what we all look to literature for, isn’t it? Reasonableness?

Leave a Reply

