Six Thousand Dogs Ahead of the Game, in a Sense

“I was happy to be a black-hearted man in his mind if that would solve the issue between us because that was a bad-looking piece of pipe he had there and I was still six thousand dogs ahead of the game, in a sense.”

– Donald Barthelme, “I Bought a Little City”

The good people over at Tee Pee Records in NYC have just released Swedish rock band Blackstrap‘s new album, “Steal My Horses and Run.” I’ve got a soft spot for music that reminds me of the 90’s radio hits I used to record onto tapes with the first 11 seconds missing. Their best are the album openers, “Winning Speech” and “Rough Parade,” which sound like Garbage (the band) on a good day.

You might also want to check out Rachel Haught‘s cool bizarre electronica. My favorite track is “The Stars,” the song that dares to ask, “Why won’t they let you touch the stars?” And the more I think about it, the angrier I get.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Six Thousand Dogs Ahead of the Game, in a Sense

  1. emily says:

    Ah! I love that Barthelme story! I talked about it at my defense! I’m going to check out these bands that you speak of. Ask me sometime about the time that I met Shirley Manson.

Leave a Reply

